Monday, June 27, 2016

Smartulating Your Wordification: Optics

The political classes in North America absolutely love to smartulate their wordification.  Their use of the word "optics" is a prime example. They misuse the word to mean the images available to present some event perceived as politically relevant. Their intent is to impress the common man as being highly intelligent and technical, pretending to use jargon to emphasise the intellect required for their profession. To the educated ear they sound like the mediocre minds that they are. People who use "optics" in this sense should be exiled to a desert isle and erased from history.

Smartulating Your Wordification - Baffling Them With Bullshit

"Smartulating your wordification" is a phrase I use to indicate someone is misusing or abusing language to impress the gullible listener or reader. My favorite example of this is "signage". You may argue that this is a legitimate recognised word but what was the intent behind its creation? As with so many wordifications used in biz-speak it replaces a perfectly functional existing word, "signs", with something that adds a syllable in order to seem to be of more import or gravitas, a sort of unnecessary jargon to emphasise the speaker is technically adept in some attempt to pretend the administrator is just as smart and capable as the technician. It is a signal to all intelligent listeners to put one hand on their wallet and maintain a heightened level of skepticism of the speaker.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Clues for the Clueless - Was Marco Rubio lying?

Yes, Marco Rubio was lying.

Clues for the Clueless - Democratic Party and Gun Control

Remember when the Democratic Party had a majority in both house of Congress and the Presidency? Yeah, 2009. For 2 years. And yes, Ted Kennedy was out sick for a large part of that with no replacement, and yes, Al Franken came in late in July, and yes the Senate now requires 60 votes for passing new law. The Dems only had a majority. Their hands were clearly tied! What else could they do? Passing law would have required some sort of political skill. That's not what they get elected to do, is it?

That still leaves 4 months of not just majority control but enough votes to pass Senate closure requirements as well. Strangely, they passed no gun control measures in that time.

However, the DNC and the Dem superPACs have all accepted millions upon millions of dollars from the majority owners of Smith & Wesson, Sturm & Ruger, etc. These financial institutions have paid over $4.1 million in speaking fees to Clinton family members and the Clinton Foundation in recent years.

But you know, totally in favor of gun control. Totally. Ahem.

New (to me) movie: Popeye

Robert Altman's Popeye - 1980
Rating: 1.4

A travesty of the cinema, truly Robert Altman at his coke-addled worst. A visually mirky scene coupled with terrible songs, if they are such, and the constant background mumbling of the main character combines to produce one of the worst outcomes imaginable.
One cannot conceive of the Popeye fan so fervent or the human being so bored as to be delighted, or even unoffended, by this unrelentingly dull porridge of mediocrity.
If at all possible do not merely skip this movie, attempt to have it expunged from the cultural memory entirely. If you have a DVD of it then shatter it into pieces and burn the remains. If you have a VHS of it then you have bigger problems.

Clues for the Clueless - Smartifying Your Wordulation!

If someone uses the word "fiduciary" more than once in conversation put your hand over your wallet and find a reason to leave the table.
If someone uses the word "signage" in conversation know that this is a person with nothing important or useful to say.

Sunday, June 19, 2016

New (to me) movie: Pride and Prejudice

Rating: 2.5

The v er sion I watched was the 1940 production starring Greer Garson and Laurence Olivier. A classic! I know I am supposed to like this but Jane Austen is sooooo boooooring! Somebody scrape the boredom out of my head!
Sorry, but it is just not for me.

Saturday, June 18, 2016

New (to me) movie: Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked

Rating: -27 (on a scale of 0 to 10)

This movie is said to be of the variety "children's entertainment". Allow me to express the contempt of children everywhere in which this film is held. I can only assume the fact that their not-yet-fully-developed shoulders cannot achieve the firm stock weld required to demand vengeance with authority prevents their own less-mature-and-pacifist-than-my-own plea for justice against those who wrought this travesty of cinema.
Enduring the ear-addling vocoder strains of the "chipmunk voices" over already vapid and boorish so-called "pop music" selections was the greatest trial of my life. Surely there is some sort of treaty or international convention concerning such abuses. The people who worked on the sound of this movie are not only infernal technicians, but bad people as well. Shame on you! The visuals were bland and what was expected. Shame on you too, I guess, but who cares because my sense of sound has been converted from treasured asset to infinitely echoing torture.
Do not watch this movie. Do not show this movie to others. If you are pregnant, do not enter a room where the movie is being played.Consult a psychologist and perhaps a good bartender if you find yourself subjected to this movie.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Mardini's Restaurant

Mardini's Restaurant is an inexpensive, clean and reasonably good falafel and gyro type place. You can get a decent Med type plate with kabob, hummus, rice etc. for a bout $10. Not bad if you are on Willow Road in Menlo Park. Plenty of seating and clean enough.

New (to me) movie: The Martian

A good Hollywood interpretation of the book. Variations of the story has been told before in various ways, I'm thinking mainly of "Robinson Crusoe On Mars", but this is updated with what we know after multiple probes of the planet. Good fun and highly recommended.

Rating: 6.7 (out of 10)

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Kumino, a restaurant in Mountain View CA

Kumino is a restaurant that features a small menu of very well executed items in a casual and attractive atmosphere at reasonable prices. It is a small place, there is space for a bout 20 diners at a time.
The menu consists of:

Buns (or Bao)
Pork Shoulder with soy paste, jalapeno and bell pepper, and cilantro
Pork Belly with cucumber and hoisin
Eggplant with sweet and sour sauce and lettuce
Smoked Salmon with ponzu cream cheese and radish

Small Plates
Fried Chicken Karaage
Warm Eggplant Salad with bell pepper puree and miso butter
Beets Salad with oranges and soy vinaigrette

Noodle Bowl
Seafood Ramen
Spicy Beef Ramen
Pork Ramen
Garlic Noodle and Chasiu
Vegetable Ramen

3 Rice Bowls
Poached Salmon
Soy Sauce Beef
Fried Chicken Cutlets

Sweets
Green Tea Tiramisu
Cheesecake & Strawberry

I have tried all four of the bao, they are each delicious but distinct. They are like a Chinese taco, the steamed buns wrapping the contents. These are the same sort of steamed buns you get with roast duck at a traditional Cantonese place. Do not pass up the eggplant bao, the eggplant is a substantial sort of aubergine tempura and the whole is excellent.

The karaage is a very good example of its kind. It could even serve as a smaller substitute for a main course. Almost Atkins-friendly, it does have a fine breading and some mayonnaise sauce.

I have sampled all of the ramen, and each deserve recommendation for very fine components, including very good noodles. I also had a bowl of the Soy Sauce Beef. It was a very good bowl of rice and meat with the vegetables coated in a miso butter. Overall I must say, pretty good. Pretty, pretty, pretty good.
According to the owner the name Kumino doesn't really mean anything, it is just a made-up name. And it is easy to remember!

Here are some pictures of the menu as it was on June 11, 2016.





With thanks to Jonathan, who paid for it.


American Business Genius 1

"What if we digitise the whole supply chain?"
This is the wisdom offered by a recent SAP commercial. (BTW, if you want to see what is wrong with the web click that SAP link. The best outcome, and no doubt certain in the near future, is that hte link is broken. If it isn't you will have a most unfortunate experience, having to see the eyesore of a webpage.) Let us consider this brilliant revelation.
First, the speaker offers, "What if...". Good, that's a fine starting point; speculation, imagination, don't limit yourself!
Second is, "...we digitise...". Well hold on a moment. I am not certain I know how to digitise something or even if I know precisely what "digitise" means. Let's look it up.

digitise - v. convert (pictures or sound) into a digital form that can be processed by a computer.

or

Verb1.digitise - put into digital form, as for use in a computer; "he bought a device to digitize the data"

This leaves me stumped as to how one would digitise "...the whole supply chain". Is this some sort of Tron thing where a laser slices all the machinery and warehouses and people into cubes and then absorbs them?
Maybe the fine people at SAP can clear this up.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Who can you trust?

Is there any news outlet that can be trusted to fairly and correctly report the news? The actions of the AP and the New York Times this week, calling a winner on a day on which no vote was cast with the clear intention of influencing the upcoming vote, is absolutely shameful. The PBS News Hour last month ran a piece produced by Kaiser's PR arm. Other alleged sources of news are even more shameless in their biases.

If anyone knows a good primary source of news reportage I would like to know about it. I do find sources like Naked Capitalism can be a useful source, but their focus tends to be narrow due to limited resources.

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Dan Gordon Restaurant, Palo Alto CA

I had lunch at the Dan Gordon Restaurant in Palo Alto California today. The menu features barbecue, I guess? Like so many menus today, it is a mish-mosh of entries that do not convey a strong impression of any sort of cuisine. Are these menus related to the chef by some sort of mystic using a Ouija board, or by recovering stroke victims as some sort of New Age therapy? What in the world are "crispy brussel sprouts" or "kale slaw" doing on a summer bbq menu? Rillettes? Seriously?

There are 3 sauces; Original, Habanero, and Carolina. The Original sauce is very sweet tomato-based standard sauce you would get in a bottle of some generic brand at the grocery store. The Habanero is the Original sauce with some chili added. Not much heat for something called Habanero. It is a sauce of no special distinction. The Carolina sauce is a version of the mustard sauce, not East Carolina sauce. Again, it is a sauce of no distinction and over-poweringly sweet for a mustard sauce. Evidently the people at Dan Gordon think the most important element of bbq sauce is sweetness.

I had a lemonade, the cheddar biscuits, a green salad, and the 3 meat plate with baked beans, finishing with the banana and nilla wafer pudding. The total was $62.50. Let that cost sink in a moment before continuing. After tip about $75 for what is basically a meat-and-3 with 2 side meats. It's enough to make your mama speak immoderately. For reals.

The cheddar biscuits had the taste of amateur biscuits, the flavor of uncooked flour overriding any cheese taste. Fortunately they were small and there were only 2 of them. They came with a lettuce cup filled with some sort of limp and moist candied bacon and a little cup of aioli. At least it was described as aioli, it had the texture and taste of plain old mayonnaise. I have noticed a lot of restaurants making this mistake, maybe they think "aioli" sounds better? How to eat this odd assemblage on the plate? The waiter had no idea. Nor do I. I would love to know the thinking behind this. Two small biscuits and some weird version of candied bacon with an ounce of mayo. If anyone understands the original intention of this dish or how you are supposed to consume it or if it is simply the result of the random nature of a cruel universe please let me know. I am at a complete and utter loss as to what this is for. Your restaurant should not make me wistful for the fine cuisine of "Red Lobster". And clue to the kitchen, you can't hold candied bacon overnight or even for a few hours. It will weep and go limp. You know, like yours.

The green salad was a limp wad of over-dressed leaves with a few split grape tomatoes. To call it uninspiring is to heap praise upon it.

For the 3-way I chose brisket, ribs and fried chicken. Weird, right? There is no smoked chicken except some smoked chicken wings as a separate menu item. What kind of place that barbecues pork and beef does not throw a chicken in the smoker?

Adding ribs to the platter cost $5. Ribs. I want you to understand that pork ribs fall into the same category as chicken feet and tripe. This was a part that was undesirable and considered inedible without a lot of preparation. It is a standard part of the odds and ends that end up in a smoker. Why in the world am I paying a supplement for it?

Getting the fried chicken on the platter was marked on the bill as a $7.50 supplement. Because the ribs supplement did not show up on the bill I will assume that the $5 for the ribs was included, meaning that the fried chicken was a mere $2.50 extra. For bland fried chicken. Bland, dry fried chicken. Bland, dry, boneless fried chicken. With a sadly deficient crust. At least it wasn't greasy! However, if you don't make really good fried chicken then do not make fried chicken. Here's a hint: You need to season the chicken before you coat it, not just bounce some salt off of the crust after it comes out of the fryer.

The baked beans came in a little dish on the plate with a garnish of a thick slice of jalapeno that was mostly the white pithy placenta, not really something anybody wants to eat. Perhaps if it had been sliced thin I could have eaten it with a spoonful of beans, but as it was, it was inedible. After removing it I was treated to the same monotone sweetness that makes up the Original sauce with beans and some onion floating in it. Look, just get a can of Busch's and empty it into a pot. Heat and serve. It'll be better than what you get now.

The brisket was a meat of no distinction. Passable. Whoopee. Pro Tip: When your brisket starts getting that open texture you've left it on the smoker too long or run the smoker at too high a heat or both. Okay, thank you, move along dearie.

The ribs were what would be considered too tough at any bbq competition in the country. That's a fact. And they came out on the plate with some of the Original sauce painted on them. I guess they thought that makes a nice looking plating. No bbq joint worth a damn will sauce your meat for you in any way without a specific request, and even then they will ask you to try it first without sauce. Lord help me, I do miss Uncle Frank. Four pretty decent sized ribs came on the plate. Somewhere on the menu they mention St. Louis style ribs but I didn't see any. Maybe those are part of a different dish. For your reference, that meaty bit at the end of the rib with that little bit of cartilage in it like you get on a Dan Gordon rib? That part is not on a St. Louis style rib.  And for the kitchen's information it is the customer's privilege to sauce their ribs. Please don't paint my ribs with sauce I don't want. For an extra five bucks. You damned Yankees.

The taqueria style fresh pickle that garnishes the meat plate is the best part of it. Ain't that a bitch?

The banana pudding had a strange taste and texture, as if a quantity of cornstarch was added and never fully cooked, leaving that starchy sort of taste and texture.

The lemonade lacked the tart-sweet balance that makes fresh lemonade so good.

I also want to mention some things from the menu that I did not try but left me baffled. There is something called "Diablo pig wings". I asked what the "pig" part was but the waiter insisted he didn't know. According to him they were simply chicken wings in very hot sauce.

There is a "poutine" without any cheese curd in it. Please, my fellow Americans, if there is no cheese curd then it is not poutine, it is called "wet fries" or "gravy fries". There is nothing wrong with wet fries. They are delicious. Stop trying to lay claim to a dish you are not actually making.

There is also something called, I kid you not, "Fresh Smoked King Slamon Rilelettes" (check the web site if you do not believe me - http://dangordons.com/ourmenu.php). Let us be generous and forgive the misspellings, still it is the case that every single word in that item should be followed by the annotation "(sic)". How can you have something that is both "smoked" and "fresh"? How can you have something that is both "fresh" and "rillettes"? Finally, how can you have a smoked fish be rilletttes? Rillettes are slow-cooked in fat, not smoked. The mind boggles.

There is a "Burnt Ends Chili". I have seen this dish before and I do not comprehend its conception. "Burnt ends" means the meat has been cooked more than fully. There is nothing for the meat to surrender to make the braise necessary in a chili. Why would someone think this is a good idea? What kind of God would allow this?

They also have "Smoked Grilled Hot Sausage". Smoked AND Grilled? Why would you do that to an innocent sausage? And what kind of sausage? The waiter didn't know. Hot links? Bratwurst? Jimmy Dean links? Do they make it in house? Do they buy it from Ditmer's? Who cares, it is an offal tube of some description and that should be good enough for the customer.

The service was adequate. The decor was inoffensive. The restaurant was generally clean. The outdoors seating is nice. I wanted to like this place, really I did. Truth is, I want to like every place that opens. But damn Dan Gordon, help me out. I know a lot of money and effort must have been spent on this complete redesign of the restaurant, what happened? As it is save yourself the grief and the money and head to Smoking Pig, still the best bbq on the Peninsula and South Bay by a country mile (and now Fremont too).

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,